Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT and admission issues thread for non-traditional OWLS

penniwinpenniwin Free Trial Member
in General 6 karma
Hello all, long time lurker here. I am a non-traditional student finishing up my applications for Fall 2017.

I thought a thread dealing with problems faced by OWLS (older, wiser law students/applicants) might be useful.

Here are some questions I have. Some are specific to OWLS; others might apply to everyone.

1) I did OK on my first LSAT but thought I could do much better because I was PTing much higher. With more practice I took the LSAT again in December but got sick with a virus on test day. Even though I was sick I went through with the test. Score went DOWN five whole points. Ugh, I guess I should have cancelled. I would like to take again (maybe I will, in June) but due to family situation and finances I absolutely have to go ahead and apply now for 2017 admission or I probably can't go to law school. So I am faced with a decision. Some of my schools say that even though they take the highest LSAT, in the case of multiple LSAT scores one should write an addendum if a score change is "significant." I think a 5 point drop is significant; but what does everyone else say? How would you deal with this?

2) How are you OWLS handling the employment section on applications? I've worked in many jobs going back several decades. Applications say to list all employment but do they really mean jobs like 2 weeks in a mini-golf back in the summer of 1986, which is now out of business and the owner is probably dead? Is there a limit to how many jobs can be listed in this section? (I haven't started entering mine yet, so any advice is appreciated.)