Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Teachers and Letter of Recommendations

So I finished University back in 2012. I doubt any of my professors remember me, and even if they were able and willing, they couldn't give an honest account of me. I finished my Masters back in 2016, I have a Professor who says she'll write me a letter of recommendation, and she does remember me. I'm afraid her letter won't mean much because it doesn't seem anything that isn't your bachelors really matters? What should I do? I know I could get 2 letters of Reccomendation from my Masters program but I'm scared it won't be worth anything.

Thank you guys for your insight

Comments

• Mellow_ZMellow_Z Alum Member
    1997 karma

I mentioned it in the other thread about LoR's, but a good recommendation from someone outside of UG > a bad letter from a professor who doesnt remember you from UG. A professor from your masters is still at least in academia, so that would be more than adequate imo.

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    9372 karma

I agree with @Mellow_Z . Recommenders who don't know you won't be able to write good letters. Letters from Master's program professors are academic recommendations, and I think they will be equally good as letters from your undergraduate professors.

• J ArandaJ Aranda Member
    48 karma

Good to know. My second question is, what should the ratio of professional/academic letters look like. I'm allowed to have 4 total for the University I'm aiming for. 2 Professional and 2 Academic, or could it easily be 3 Professional and 1 Academic?

Thank you

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited May 2017 23929 karma

@akistotle said:
    I agree with @Mellow_Z . Recommenders who don't know you won't be able to write good letters. Letters from Master's program professors are academic recommendations, and I think they will be equally good as letters from your undergraduate professors.
    @akistotle said: