Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Question from 7Sager about the admissions impact from having another degree

studentservicestudentservice Alum Member Administrator Moderator Student Services

Hey guys, we're posting on behalf of a 7Sager. They're wondering the following:

I purchased the Ultimate Package when I completed the LSAT in 2016, but pursued a masters instead. I am now applying to law schools, but do not know what impact having another degree would have on my application. I scored 157 on the LSAT and graduated with a 3.4 from Boston College. But I scored high on the GRE (99th writing, 95th verbal and 75th percentile in math) and graduated in the top quartile of my masters program at University College London. I also authored an Initiative to the Citizens of Washington State.

I did my MSc in Transportation and City Planning, and I am centering my law studies on land use and environmental law, too. I imagine there is some benefit to showing such dedication to a specific area of focus?

Any advice guys?

Comments

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    9372 karma

Hi 7Sager,

While "soft factors" such as your master's degree do matter, your LSAT score and undergraduate GPA are "hard factors," which are the most important factors in the admissions process.

I do believe there are some benefits to showing your dedication to a specific area, but you should focus on studying for the LSAT and improving your score.

I see that you have a high GRE score. Things will change over the next years, but the LSAT currently holds way more weight than the GRE. If a candidate has both GRE and LSAT scores, only the LSAT score gets reported (according to Spivey Consulting's tweet). Again, this might change in the future, but the GRE can't offset a low LSAT as of now.

• Seeking PerfectionSeeking Perfection Alum Member
    4423 karma

@studentservice said: