Discouraged - Can I really pull this off or am I deluding myself?

farle072farle072 Alum Member
edited March 2018 in General 17 karma

I began studying for the LSAT shortly after I graduated from undergrad, about 5 years ago. I scored a 145 diagnostic. Since then I've taken the test 3 times officially, and my scores are 160, 160, 161. I haven't been studying intently the entire 5 years, I'll go for a few months of intense studying and then I'll take a few months break, etc. This is my "make or break" year to apply as I can't continue in this cycle anymore, and I am feeling sick and stressed already. My goal is 170+ so I can get into a T14 law school with my not so stellar 3.3 GPA in Poli Sci/Psych.

I am beginning to feel that my dream of attending a T14 law school is slipping, and it's depressing. I'll take diagnostic preptests that I've taken 2-3 times before and score 165-168 on them, though I know those numbers are inflated because at some point I probably encountered the question, even if I don't remember the exact answer.

I guess my questions are 1) Now that LSAC has lifted the 3 tests every 2 year requirement, is the fact Ill have 3-5 test scores on file going to diminish my chances? 2) At what point do I throw in the towel and say I've reached my maximum potential on this test? I work full-time, study about 3 hours a night on weekends and 6-8 hours a day on weekends and my personal life is taking a hit and I'm not getting any younger.

I've been told I could apply to a lower ranked school and likely get in with a scholarship, but I have high standards for myself. Does anyone have any tips for me? I'm not the type to give up, but I've never felt so discouraged in my life, and this test has been a chip on my shoulder for 5 years, and the weight is starting to take its toll on me.

Comments

• FixedDiceFixedDice Member
    edited March 2018 1804 karma