Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I quit my job to study. Will this be alright?

Q_ESQUIREQ_ESQUIRE Alum Member
in General 71 karma

I quit my job to study LSAT(commuting was a burden so I thought this would be time-efficient). Which will give me a min.6months to max 1year blank on my resume. Will this be alright when I apply to law school? I am not young and it's been quite a while since I graduated so I'm concerned about this..even my previous career has nothing related to law. what do you guys think?

Comments

• samantha.ashley92samantha.ashley92 Alum Member
    1777 karma

I did it. I'm not sure how I'll explain it yet haha. Honestly, I feel like the jump in my LSAT score will outweigh the gap in my resume. If anything, I'll twist it into how I learned financial responsibility in order to save up for my time off blahblahblah.

• Q_ESQUIREQ_ESQUIRE Alum Member
    71 karma

Thanks for the advice! I guess getting a high LSAT score will explain it naturally but I do agree on the financial responsibility part with you if the schools requires additional explanation

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member
    5254 karma

Some people find it helpful to volunteer PT.

• Tom_TangoTom_Tango Alum Member
    902 karma

Do what you have to do

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    2531 karma

You need a part-time gig. Even 4 empty post-college months on a resume looks terrible on an application. Obviously if you score a 175+ it won't matter too much but if you are at the median for a school and they see that you took off 6+ months and quit your job leading up to your LSAT date, they will know that you spent all of that time studying for the LSAT.