Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Asking for a LOR to a professor that you took only one course from

hl_alarakhl_alarak Alum Member
edited July 2018 in Law School Admissions 158 karma

Hi all. I'm an international student so please excuse me for my poor writing.

So I plan on applying this cycle, having taken the June LSAT and waiting till the results come out next week. In the meantime I intend to proceed with my application including the personal statement and LORs, but I am having some difficulty deciding whom to ask for a Letter of Recommendation.

I'm in my senior year at college at the moment and I'm pretty confident that I've done a fair job in getting good grades. But when it comes to my relationship with professors, I'm not as confident that most professors I have taken courses from know me well enough to write a convincing LOR.

True, I have had some meaningful interaction with a few of them and I know for sure that they would not hesitate to recommend me, but I'm not so certain as to whether I should ask them; I've only taken a single course from each of them, which I would say is not a very convincing indicator that the recommender is well aware of my qualities.

In short, is it a bad idea to ask a professor for LOR even though I took only one course from them? I would appreciate your advice.

Comments

• samantha.ashley92samantha.ashley92 Alum Member
    1777 karma