Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I apply with the GRE or study for LSAT glory?

SoundthelazSoundthelaz Member
in General 7 karma

Hey all,

So I was an acting major in college, completely new to binge study sessions like the ones you need for the GRE and LSAT, however, I studied for around four months and got a 158- Verbal and 154- Q for GRE. Math was my worst subject, so passing the 50th percentile mark was cathartic for me. As I've been studying English and classical texts for the majority of my life, I never really focused on improving that score, since it was already fairly high percentile-wise.

This, now, brings me to the LSAT. If I converted the GRE to the LSAT on ETS' little calculator, I get a score of 161. Now, from what I've been reading, that's a reasonably good score, and qualifies as the mean score for several of the t-35 schools. My GPA was a 3.4 (because acting, amirite?) and I wanted to get anybody's thoughts on whether or not I should study for the LSAT and improve in that regard, or just apply using my GRE score, if 161 would be too high to attain on my own. I haven't done a diagnostic test, but I'm worried that I'll have to study for another four months for the November LSAT or further just to attain a score that's pretty close to the 161 equivalent GRE exam that I took. Thoughts?

Also, If I'm in that range already, which schools seem reasonable to apply for and which would seem like stretch goals? There's so much noise about how to about this fresh, it's making a newbie like myself a bit hesitant in taking a step in any direction.

Personal experiences welcome, brag about it, let me know what you went through!

Best,
Michael

Comments

• sx23sx23 Alum Member
    409 karma