Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please Advise

parkervukichparkervukich Free Trial Member
edited November 2018 in General 82 karma

Taking suggestions on the following dilemma:

I started studying in late June - I worked through 1 lesson per day of the LSAT trainer, did the prescribed drills, and completed that in about 2 months. From there I have done mostly timed sections (all of 72-81) and 62-68; however, I have only taken approximately 5 or 6 full length exams. I started at a 143 cold diagnostic and my scores are 156, 154, 158, 161, and 154. I got logic games down to avg -4 (some later PTs killed this average with the miscellaneous games). I feel confident there now. I do not feel confident in LR although I feel much more prepared than I did 1 month ago.

Here's the dilemma - I am taking the test Saturday. My goal when this all started was to get a 162. I really would like to start law school next fall and not wait a whole year; however, I absolutely know I am capable of a significantly higher score than what I will get on Saturday.I really think I can get 170+ if I did the 40 plus tests took all the time, but is it worth waiting another year? I am 25, turn 26 in March, and a life underwriter (risk selection for a big company) so work is very draining - lots of reading and critical thinking throughout the day. So, studying has felt rushed and stressful. Money is also a big factor in this equation due to lots of undergrad debt from a private institution.

If I take the nov test and continue to study for the January, do you all think that 10ish weeks would be sufficient to get to the 165 mark? Obviously I am nowhere close to the prescribed 40 PTs though. So say I'd do 1 PT per weekend for 10 weeks and some sort of light drill work during the week on LR. Do you think that would give me a good shot at 165?