Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Trouble with SA and PSA Questions, help!

CircleTurkCircleTurk Alum Member
edited August 2019 in Logical Reasoning 148 karma

Hi all,

I've been studying for a little over 7 months but I've always had trouble with Sufficient Assumption and Pseudo Sufficient Assumption questions. I get them right a lot of the time but it takes forever, and writing out the lawgic often makes it worse for me.

I don't think JYs method works for me very well. I understand the principles of lawgic but I have a lot of trouble when the logic chains they present use slightly different subjects/are not worded in the same way. It's also really easy for my brain to get it all jumbled.

Anyone else have this issue? What worked for you?

Are there other methods for approaching these outside of writing out logic chains that can work?

help

Comments

• thecmancanthecmancan Alum Member
    161 karma

Ideally, your intuition is good enough on the non-curve-breaker questions that you don't need to diagram. The easier SA questions will have a glaring gap in reasoning.

For SA you look for the exact wording of the ideas you want to link together. You can also look for contrapositives. I find SA questions a bit easier because the burden of the AC to move the argument to 100% validity.

PSA questions are quite different. The ideas that link together are not necessarily exact matches. It's quite a big looser in terms of validity.

Often with these, you are looking for reasoning errors and the common correct AC types for each:

Causal reasoning: look to help argument become more than coincidence. defend against alternate causes, etc.

Comparisons: look for AC's the make the comparison in the argument more applicable and likely to hold water.

Most of all, these questions are often just obvious leaps over gaps.

Such as: Barry stole our company secrets, PAY HIM!