Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Tips for Testing Faster?

SoupCitySoupCity Member
in General 40 karma

I have been a slow test taker my whole life. I've never completed every question of a standardized test (ACT, GRE, LSAT) and even after two months of dedicated studying and taking 10 full timed LSATs I've never completed a single section (LR, RC, LG/AR) without guessing on 5+ questions in the last minute.

Has anyone else had problems like this and managed to overcome? I know the more I familiarize myself with the material the quicker it should come, but since this has been the case for me forever and I have been a good student, it seems like a bigger issue.

Some helpful tips I've been working on are to skip a question if I'm not understanding and come back, and take the test like I'm trying to get my actual goal score, not a 180 (avoid time sucks basically). Any other pointers?

Comments

• listentothewindblowlistentothewindblow Core Member
    127 karma

Hmmm are you doing the low resolution summaries for RC? Also maybe make sure you fully understand the passages before moving on to the questions. That way you don't waste time going back to search for the answers. This helped me a lot. Also you could try tracing the stimulus/passages with your mouse as you read as a way to try to force yourself to actively read (like you would trace with your finger/pencil on a paper test). I think that's all I can think of for now!

• Jose16FerJose16Fer Member
    48 karma