Jan Flex - PT Scores Dropping

TiffanyBTiffanyB Member
in General 26 karma

Hi all!

Looking for suggestions on the last stretch before the January Flex. It seems like I'm scoring progressively worse on my PTs, which has me extremely nervous. I study anywhere from 4-6 hours daily, and try to take one day off during the week to avoid complete burnout. However, last week I was forced to take four days off from studying, as I was moving into a new place. After returning to my study routine from PT avg dropped from 161 to 158 (which isn't huge, but I really need to stay in the 160s). You'd think with such a long break, I'd come back refreshed. Also, I feel like I've forgotten the techniques/processes for LR questions, and find myself mindlessly reading stimulus, instead of the active reading I've practiced (I studied LR with Ellen's "The Loophole"). I'm even struggling with simple LG questions that came easy before.

Any suggestions anyone could offer? Not sure if I'm suffering from mental burnout, nerves or just the wrong approach---but I really don't want to blow it on test day!!

Comments

• pfmakeypfmakey Member
    5 karma

Hi Tiffany,

I found myself in a similar position prior to my first exam with the RC section, and I've felt it at times while I've been preparing for this second exam as well. I think my knowing that the test was getting closer and closer made me doubt myself in a way that was reflected in my score. It sounds like that might be happening to you too. Two quick pieces of advice I'd offer: 1) go back to fundamentals, take a day where you skim through the syllabus chronologically, to ensure you've got your core building blocks down and fresh in your mind 2) trust yourself and the time you've put into your preparation! It sounds like you've been working really hard for this 160 - have confidence in the time you've already dedicated. Fingers crossed for ya!

• TiffanyBTiffanyB Member
    26 karma