Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Can a Personal Statement be too personal?

workandstudyworkandstudy Yearly Member
edited April 2021 in Law School Admissions 17 karma

I am just beginning the brainstorm for my personal statement.
I want to write about a traumatic event from my childhood. Essentially when I was 7, my grandmother was killed in a hit and run accident. The person was never identified or convicted. My grandmother was an illegal immigrant from Mexico living in Chicago.
The reason I want to write about this topic is because it has shaped me out in every way, to be the person I am today. It forced me at young age to feel that sense of betrayal, anger and discrimination. Which as a young adult, those feelings drove me to study an undergraduate degree in International Business (focus in diversity and inclusion) because I never wanted anyone to feel what my family felt. Additionally, the situation has been a driver in my pursuit to study law because I always felt a sense of injustice with the situation.
I realize this entire explanation is very vague, and I am just beginning to truly piece the emotions with how they relate to my choices later in life but I am confident they are connected. I'm just wondering, before I really dive in, is this too personal? Is this not the route a personal statement is supposed to take?

I studied my undergrad degree for 3.5 years and graduated in Dec 2018. I have been in the workforce and at the same company for 2 years this April. So I am very open to any advice about applying to schools, studying and writing essays since I am a bit removed from the academic setting.

thank you!

Comments

• lilpinglinglilpingling Member
    638 karma