LSAT basics - when to skip and when to guess.

sarahprusiksarahprusik Core Member
in General 11 karma

There seems to be mention of skipping questions in some of the tutorials. I know some standardized tests penalize more for a wrong answer than a skipped question. I'm brand new to the LSAT, so if anyone has any clarity on this point I'd appreciate the help!

Comments

• zoomzoomzoomzoom Member
    462 karma

I have a unique Skipping and Guessing strategy that works for me, but feel free to test it out and see what works for you.

What I do is when I hit a difficult question, let's use LR as an example, I do my best to figure it out (or understand it at least). But the moment I just can't see anything or it's too difficult to get at the moment, I skip. That's my marker to skip. But I DO NOT BUBBLE ANYTHING.

Why? Because I found that when I guess something in the moment before moving on, when I come back to it, I often find that I am more biased towards the chosen answer ("There must be some reason why I chose this answer right?") rather than being open-minded about whatever answer choices I have left to choose from.

Often times, when I skip and come back to a difficult question, I find myself seeing the question better and can usually find the answer after a 2nd look. This only works because I stayed openminded when I skipped by not committing right in the moment. When I do guess, it's because I am running out of time or I truly don't know the answer.

TLDR - Skip when hard but don't commit just yet. Come back for a 2nd look and then see if you can solve it then. If too hard or running out of time, then guess.

• sarahprusiksarahprusik Core Member
    11 karma

Thanks a lot for this. So from what I can tell, you should always at least bubble in an answer?

• Kaylee HKaylee H Alum Member
    66 karma

Yes. You are awarded points based on your number of correct responses. An incorrect guess is not penalized more than a skipped question

• 176 karma