148--> 165 finally done after 2.5 years (long winded story)

dianao6512dianao6512 Member
edited September 2021 in General 169 karma

Quick rundown:
URM
3.92 UGPA
150 diagnostic
June 2019- 150 (canceled)
October 2020- 148 :(
July 2021- 157
August 2021- 165 :)

The LSAT and I have a very tough relationship. I started studying during my Junior year in 2019. I read through the Powerscore books and was confident I would be able to teach myself. I got 7sage and studied here and there, not super seriously since I had classes. I took the June 2019 LSAT (the first digital one that allowed you to cancel your score) and I got a 150. I only really took it so I could see how I would do with test day conditions, so I canceled. I continued to study haphazardly (I hated studying for the LSAT since there is no direct return to your studying efforts), hoping for my scores to magically hit 170. I quickly realized that just because I read the Powerscore books and went through the 7sage curriculum, that doesnt mean I studied in a way that would help my score. That is how I studied in school and was able to get a 3.92, but it did not work that way with the LSAT. I had to make the hard decision to take a year off after school to continue studying because I was not seeing the improvement I was hoping for.