Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Masters vs. law school

viviana7211viviana7211 Alum Member
in General 42 karma
Ok so I am currently doing my masters in counseling. Long story short I got into this field because it was "convenient". I always wanted to go to law school but always had an excuse (im too old, too expensive, too long) I enjoy my field but I think about law school all the time!
I am 27, my gpa for undergrad is 3.4, gpa for grad school is 4.0 first year 2nd semester.
Should I take a "leave of absence" from my masters and aim to study for the December LSAT? I have a lot of student loans and I would like to get a scholarship for law school. I am aiming for Seton Hall or Rutgers Newark (NJ). What LSAT score would I need with my gpa? Do they even look at my MS gpa?
Also would you even bother with law school, or just continue with my masters? Im sorry for all the questions, I am really confused and would like some opinions!
Thank you

Comments

• PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma
    Grad GPA is just a soft, and not a super great one since most are inflated anyways. But you can use it to demonstrate a greater level of dedication or maturity relative to your undergrad experience.

Off the top of my head without checking stats I think you could get into either of those schools with a 160+ easily.

However, given your short timeline between now and December I would finish your Masters to have it over and done with, then really evaluate what you want to do and then start LSAT prep if you want to go to law school and then apply next year. If you're on the fence about even becoming a lawyer I wouldn't give up the progress you have made in grad school to pursue something else you're not sure about.
  • viviana7211viviana7211 Alum Member
    edited July 2015 42 karma