Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Affirmative Action Supreme Court

The supreme court might rule on affirmative action in the next couple of weeks. If it gets eliminated would that change anything for law school applications?

Comments

• Matt SorrMatt Sorr Alum Member
    edited November 2022 2239 karma

I’m no legal expert, but the only way I could see it noticeably altering apps is the possible elimination of URM status consideration. There’s no way to know how the court will rule, nor how far their ruling will go, but if they do rule that race can’t be considered at all in college applications, I’m not sure how URM status could still be tracked.

With that being said, I must give a couple disclaimers: First, it’s totally possible schools will continue tracking URM status through different means if the court outright rules against the consideration of race in apps. I’m not sure how they would, but I have very little insight into the admissions game. Second, as I mentioned earlier, I am no legal scholar. Hell, I haven’t even taken the LSAT yet. So everything I’ve said is just how I, at first glance, am trying to make sense of the possible outcomes. I could be way off.

• Steven_B-1Steven_B-1 Member
    795 karma

@"Matt Sorr" I was thinking about this as well. I think that the schools would probably continue "unofficially" weighing URM status from what they glean from someone's personal and/or diversity statements. That could be one way to still inform the school that you are an URM even if the official channel (the app) is removed.

By teh way, I'm just spitballing here. I have no idea. But i am interested in knowing how this would affect the admissions process.

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27829 karma