Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Extra Year?

Alrigtythen1Alrigtythen1 Free Trial Member
in General 4 karma
I'm in a situation that I'd really appreciate some advice on. Maybe this will help others. I'm currently studying for the October exam and have been studying for about a year (on-and-off). I've been doing serious work leading up to the June exam but canceled the day before simply because of scoring too low on multiple practice tests (upper 150s). I was going to just take it for experience-sake but I'm seriously concerned with school's averaging scores. Also, it's not worth taking the exam if I'm certain the score I would get would be low. I still feel a little stuck now and I'm considering the option of applying next cycle instead because hey who wouldn't want a full year to study (though a few extra months would do)? Despite roughly a year, I don't think I've reached my potential.

I just graduated in May and in 3 years, instead of 4, and was going to take the 1 year otherwise spent as a Senior to get a job and then continue regularly straight to law school. I don't like the idea of taking 2 years in between but it seems as though the benefits (making more money in between to even afford law school, and more time to study to potentially get into an even better law school) outweigh going on time. What's difficult is that I've sunk a lot of time and effort going with my first plan and I could conceivably just stick through it and possibly retake in Dec after Oct though, again, I don't know if I could have a better score next year. I'd really appreciate comments because I'm currently considering whether I should stick with October, see how I do, and then decide to take another year or not. Of course the problem with that is that I potentially risk having my scores averaged when I could just have a clean number next year.

Comments

• PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma