Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Including pre-undergrad work experience in resume?

lamullingalamullinga Alum Member
in General 9 karma
I'm a non-traditional student and worked FT since age 16 to support myself. Ended up getting a GED in my early 20s, going to community college, and transferring to a top 3 private university. I have been working with nonprofit legal services providers for the last 4+ years. Still, I had 5 jobs before graduating and all of them were in restaurants. I would like to include at least some of these in the resume, but not all.

I'm just having difficulties deciding how far back I need to go for pre-graduation jobs. Do I start with the job I had when I started community college? Or should I just include all 5 of them?

I would really appreciate some advice. Thank you!

Comments

• PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma
    Nothing before you first enrolled in any college (community or otherwise) unless you worked there before and during college in which case it would just happen to cover a period in which you were not yet in college. As an example I started a retail job during high school and continued through my first year of college so it is on my resume, but jobs I only had in high school are not. Does that answer your question?
  • lsatingslsatings Alum Member
    349 karma
    @lamullinga said:
    I would like to include at least some of these in the resume, but not all.