Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Redoing the Most Recent Tests vs. Doing Older Ones

joecarterruskeyjoecarterruskey Free Trial Member
in General 166 karma
Context: I've been studying for about 10 months; have done all of the tests except for the 7 most recent ones, and have started to retake many tests I've already done. I've found on retakes I can score in the 174-176 range, and learn quite a bit from seeing the patterns in the test. For the last stretch of my study period I was going to do two retakes a week(think tests from the 2003-2006 range) and one fresh test a week from the most recently released ones (2012-2015) to gauge my progress.

However, I had an epiphany; screw gauging my progress!

I've been stuck in the 166-171 range for 6 months. I know what I'm going to get on a fresh test. So, perhaps it would be worthwhile for me to take these fresh recently released tests twice instead of just once. Granted, the scores closest to my test date will probably be inflated, but I feel like that this is a better learning opportunity versus just seeing those problems on one take and a blind review.

With that said, I'd be taking a test for the first time, and then retaking aprox. 3 weeks later. Maybe that's too soon, or maybe it doesn't matter?

n case I wasn't clear, this is what I mean as an example:

Example of a week in scenario 1:
Retake Oct. 2003, BR it
Take Oct. 2013 for the first time, BR it
Retake Oct. 2006, BR it

Example of a week in scenario 2:
Take Oct. 2013, BR it
Take Dec. 2013, BR it
Take June 2014, BR it

Then, three weeks later, retake those same tests and BR them again