PT71.S1.Q20 - Income from wool sales for family of Australian sheep farmers

legal_namelegal_name Alum Member
edited September 2016 in General 277 karma
https://7sage.com/lsat_explanations/lsat-71-section-1-question-20/

In theory, I understand why A, B, D, and E are incorrect answers.

However, C is a challenge for me to accept. Just because there are other products that constitute the full income of a sheep farmer both locally and internationally, it's not like we know how much of their prior business depended on sales in those areas.
For example,
Income:
2% domestically and internationally - muttton
2% domestically and internationally - sheepskins
2% domestically and internationally - "other products"
4% domestic - wool sales
90% internationally - wool sales

I'm no expert in sales, but hypothetically wouldn't an increase in the biggest portion of your income cover and possibly still leave you with profit in the event that the lowest portions of your income decreased? I would love for someone to point out what I'm not seeing.

Thank you for all help!

Comments

• midna_twilimidna_twili Free Trial Member
    56 karma
    To answer your question about sales, not necessarily. You could have your biggest area be 30% of sales and have that improve by 50% and you would lose money if the other 70% all went down 80%.

This question asks what would most help and C offers a potential explanation because sharp losses in several other sources of income could offset all of the money gained from the area mentioned in the stimulus.
  • legal_namelegal_name Alum Member
    277 karma
    Thank you @midna_twili. I understand, just feels like too big of an assumption to comfortably accept C.
  • J.Y. PingJ.Y. Ping Administrator Instructor
    13940 karma