Résumé gap - 1 year - serious problem?

pasu1223pasu1223 Alum Member
in General 109 karma

Hello,

Does anyone know how seriously admissions considers gaps in your résumé when applying to law school?

I'm a recent graduate of my state school CU Boulder (May 2016). I was very involved in school, business fraternity, founded a social fraternity, student government, business case competitions, internships, and side jobs; I graduated with a 3.6 with a double in Finance, Accounting, and minor in Philosophy. Then I worked as an analyst for a management consulting firm in the energy industry for buying/selling power plants.

I had the job for a year, but quit because I wanted more time to study for the LSAT.

If I worked the job for a year and quit in August 2017 and apply to law school in September 2018; how much will admissions consider this one year gap in terms of my résumé? Is this a serious problem if I don't fill the gap between now and September?

Thank you for any advice!

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited January 2018 23929 karma

@pasu1223 said:
    Hello,

Does anyone know how seriously admissions considers gaps in your résumé when applying to law school?

I'm a recent graduate of my state school CU Boulder (May 2016). I was very involved in school, business fraternity, founded a social fraternity, student government, business case competitions, internships, and side jobs; I graduated with a 3.6 with a double in Finance, Accounting, and minor in Philosophy. Then I worked as an analyst for a management consulting firm in the energy industry for buying/selling power plants.

I had the job for a year, but quit because I wanted more time to study for the LSAT.

If I worked the job for a year and quit in August 2017 and apply to law school in September 2018; how much will admissions consider this one year gap in terms of my résumé? Is this a serious problem if I don't fill the gap between now and September?

Thank you for any advice!