Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I have an extremely low undergraduate GPA, should I even apply to law school?

ronikastewart11ronikastewart11 Live Member
edited June 2019 in Law School Admissions 79 karma

Hi everyone,
I graduated in 2016 from XULA with a 2.3 GPA due to taking on many responsibilities at home. For example, I helped supplement the income in my household in which I worked full-time for most of my career. This is my regular GPA and not my LSAC gpa which I terrified about. I knew I wanted to be a lawyer since I was 11 years old but I have been through so much life wise. Is there hope for me and if so what are some tips I could use to improve my chances

Comments

• Eric25Eric25 Member
    720 karma

of course there is hope! I've seen people with similar GPAs go to law school. You're biggest factor will obviously be the lsat, and killing it with an awesome score will give the biggest boost to your application. Writing an addendum explaining your GPA will also really help as well. Do you have any ideas about where you want to go? I'll be honest, I don't know how likely it is that you would be able to go to a top-20 school. I hope I'm wrong, but there are certainly law schools that would accept you if you get an awesome lsat score! This community will help you in any way we can, I'm sure someone will comment with more advice/stories.

• JerryClarke242JerryClarke242 Alum Member
    602 karma
  • AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited February 2018 23929 karma

@"ronikastewart.rs" said:
    Hi everyone,