Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2nd Time Around and Anxiety..Any Advice!?

kicurtiskicurtis Alum Member
edited May 2015 in June 2015 LSAT 71 karma
So I'm signed up for the June 2015 test and this is my second time taking the test. I took the Oct 2013 and scored in the low 150s which was heartbreaking considering my diagnostic was a 157. I've been studying for about 9 months, took the 7sage course and have done 20 PTs under test conditions. My last five scores are as follows: PT 65--- 163, PT 66-- 169, PT 71-- 165, PT 72-- 165, PT 73-- 168. My goal score is a 167-169 so I think I'm scoring where I want to be. The problem is I have anxiety and my confidence really took a hit the first time I took the test. Anyone have some advice on how to get through these next two weeks both mentally and study-wise? I feel like I'm ready and will do better on this test but at the same time I have this creeping fear that somehow I'll freak out and mess it up again. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    I think maintaining your anxiety requires a two-pronged approach. The first is to ensure good habits that help you become more centered. This includes good sleep hygiene, minimal stress outside of LSAT (if that means avoiding pesky family members, then do so), healthy diet, meditation, exercise, etc.

The second is to practice testing with the anxiety and learning how to control it. I'm trying to do this by imaging everything that could possibly go wrong on test day and training my brain to respond a certain way. Oh crap, there's traffic on the free way? I'm mentally imagining myself taking deep breaths, putting on a good playlist, and driving as calmly as I can. There are certain things we can do to practice these moments (for instance, taking a PT at a coffee shop to get used to irritating noises).