Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any music/fine art majors out there?

ATLsat_2019ATLsat_2019 Member
edited March 2018 in Law School Admissions 455 karma

I'm a music student and law school hopeful (obviously). I decided to check out admissions records for music majors on Law School Numbers today, and have to say it was pretty discouraging. Maybe the data isn't really representative because there really weren't a whole lot of search results, but it seems like those I found (particularly for higher scorers) really underperformed their numbers.

Of course I don't know anything about these people besides their numbers but it definitely has me a bit worried that even with a great LSAT score I won't be that competitive for T14 schools. Anyone else out there coming from music or other fine arts fields and have thoughts or experience to share?

Comments

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    9372 karma

I believe @"Leah M B" was a music major....!

• sandypantssandypants Alum Member
    231 karma

My undergrad was in Interior Design. Although my program was more about interior architecture, I am definitely concerned that my major sounds like a fluffy one without much rigor. Unfortunately what many people think when they see "interior design" is property brothers and HGTV, when my major was far beyond that sort of superficial stuff. Anyhow, I'm going to apply for the 2019 fall cycle, I'm really hoping that a strong application package with a great LSAT score will be able to mitigate any concerns of the admissions boards about my major.