PT53.S1.Q9 - Global surveys estimate the earth's

bravesfan111111bravesfan111111 Alum Member
edited April 2018 in Logical Reasoning 39 karma

Hello 7sage community! This is my first time posting here but I've been reading the forum for quite some time. I'm posting as I have a question from prep test 53 (https://7sage.com/lsat_explanations/lsat-53-section-1-question-09/). I'm wondering why answer choice A is a necessary assumption. The answer choice is that the decline in population of nesting females is proportional to that of the larger population My thought is that this is not a necessary assumption as the argument's conclusion could still be valid if the general population was declining MORE than the nesting female population (which would mean the decline was not proportional). This also made me wonder whether a necessary assumption relates to the argument or conclusion. In other words, is an assumption necessary if its falsehood destroys the argument but still allows for the possibility of the truth of the conclusion? Thank you in advance for the help.
NOTE: I edited this post because I was unaware that we could not directly quote the test. My apologies.

Admin note: edited title (formatting)

Comments

• FixedDiceFixedDice Member
    1804 karma

FYI, there's a forum rule against quoting directly from PTs.

• _oshun1__oshun1_ Alum Member
    edited April 2018 3652 karma

I'm gonna let you figure it out by saying this:

The human species is in danger when at least 2/3 of the population dies.
    2/3 of people with blue hair have died.
    Thus, the human population is in danger.

The necessary assumption here is just that the # of blue haired people dying is representative of how many people in the entire population are dying.

Otherwise, who cares that a portion of a portion of the population died. We have no reason to fear for the future of the human race if blue haired people's deaths are outliers.

• bravesfan111111bravesfan111111 Alum Member
    39 karma