Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Parenting, family, social life, and Law School

LSAT_WreckerLSAT_Wrecker Member
edited April 2018 in Off-topic 4850 karma

Now seems as good a time as any to start a thread near and dear to some people considering law school. Is it possible to maintain some sort of balance between the rigorous demands of law school and an "outside" life that includes parents, friends, other activities? ETA: Spoiler alert, I personally think the answer to the question is YES for 100% of people. Sometimes that fact gets lost in translation / open discussion. Nothing worth having is easy and law school definitely falls into the category of not easy, but what are some thoughts /suggestions / experiences on the ability to maintain a life outside of law school.

I am particularly interested in this aspect of the law school decision. I'm a non-traditional student in his mid-40's, 4 children (only 1 of which lives at home), with a spouse with a demanding career and her own PhD study demands. I volunteer a significant amount of time to one of my children's school (3-4 days a week typically). Scheduling is huge in my life. 25 years of military service, multiple deployments, and a 2 year unaccompanied tour (me-Japan, family-USA) have provided context that, for me, make the time demands of law school and the ability to stay engaged in family life one of the key factors in my decision of if/when/where to attend law school.

I've spoken with a couple of current law students at the two schools at the top of my list and also to other practicing lawyers that are either existing friends or kind souls that responded to one of the numerous cold emails I sent out some of the public defenders / DAs in my local area. A few thoughts on time management they gave me, as it specifically applies to maintaining a school / balance: