The Most Intense Plateau - Help/Advice/Encouragement?

stormstorm Member
edited June 2018 in General 261 karma

I have hit the most literal plateau, and I take the test June 11 (also signed-up for July 23).

On my past FIVE tests I have scored a 167. No more, no less.

The good news is that this is my first time taking the test for real, so I think that a 167 is a fine score to have on record for my top choice schools (NYU, UofM, UC Berkeley). However, I'm so frustrated that I'm not pushing through to a 170+.

Each test I can feel the one section that does it to me - it is usually the second logical reasoning section... I go into it and feel fatigued looking at the questions/it is directly after break and I feel just out of it (-2 on first lr section, -6 on second).

Whenever I do logical reasoning outside of a PT, I get between -1 and -4, usually -1 to -3.

I feel like, at this point, I should be able to push above 170 for the real test in July (I hope). My blind reviews are consistently above 176. This plateau is just so frustrating. I also am hoping that the adrenaline rush on the day of the test might help keep me focused (usually adrenaline keeps me focused vs distracted).

Comments

• saraheq1saraheq1 Alum Member
    122 karma

Sadly I have no words of wisdom to offer, but just wanted to commiserate with you. The same happens to me- individual sections I'm around -4, and in PTs I average -7.I have no doubt the mental fatigue contributes. Hoping for that adrenaline on test day too!

• testfromawaytestfromaway Alum Member
    280 karma

Have you tried meditating?

I find that a quick time to breathe and practice mindfulness before every section (especially the one right after the break) helps me recenter and see the test with fresh eyes.

167 is a great score, but if the issue is fatigue, if you can push through that then you'll have something even more incredible on record. Good luck!

• LivingThatLSATdreamLivingThatLSATdream Alum Member
    500 karma