Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is GW Law a good law school?

Nunuboy1994Nunuboy1994 Free Trial Member

US News and Business currently ranks GW Law 22 I believe; it’s not a t14 but is GW Law still a good law school? I’m an undergrad here and got into a masters program awarded by the law and business school

Comments

• Tom_TangoTom_Tango Alum Member
    902 karma

Define "good"

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    2531 karma

Yeah, GW is a good school. Remember that T14 schools are the elite class of schools. Generally the 20-30 ranked schools are considered good schools.

Whether it's the right school for your personal goals is a more apt questions to ask. If you want to work in academia, be a federal clerk, or make it into Big Law, then GW might not be right for you. If you want to work in a medium to large size firm and practice law then GW should be just fine.

• LivingThatLSATdreamLivingThatLSATdream Alum Member
    500 karma

You need to consider your objective. What career are you interested in that requires a MBA and JD? Is acquiring both worth the cost and extra year of school? Does GW guarantee admission to these programs AND offer a substantial scholarship, since you are in undergrad there? If not, I would consider taking the LSAT and applying to a range of schools to try to get the best scholarship opportunity possible, if going to law school is necessary for your career goals. GW law program provides scholarships for over 66% of their students, so if you are going there, it'd be wise to be one of those students.

• Nunuboy1994Nunuboy1994 Free Trial Member
    346 karma