Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I took a Pass/Fail GE Course and Received a Fail...advice?

LAWYEREDLAWYERED Alum Member

Hi everyone,

I studied abroad my first year of college (new program) and had an okay GPA (3.4). I went back to my home university and spent nearly a whole year sick with the worst bout of asthma-bronchitis I have ever had (I missed a ton of classes, choked on air, could not speak, intense fatigue, etc.). I still maintained an okay GPA (3.0-3.2--I can't remember) but I missed the deadline to withdraw from a science GE I was taking (Astronomy) and although my university does not consider P/F in their GPA calculation--I have heard that the LSAT does and that a Fail= an F. I have not officially submitted my transcripts to the LSAC but I'm guessing my overall GPA will end up being pretty low (3.26-ish).

Should I write an addendum? My first semester Senior Year GPA was a 3.5 and my second semester GPA was a 3.7--so there was definitely an upward trajectory...I just don't want to seem like I'm making excuses, but my sickness seriously messed up my year. Sometimes I would try to attend class and then have to excuse myself to have a 10 minute coughing fit outside the classroom...And I'm not even exaggerating.

Also, my major GPA was MUCH better than my cumulative GPA--is that something I should point out? I was an English Literature major with a minor in Forensics and Criminality and so all the science-y GE courses messed up my GPA. My overall GPA was a 3.36 and my major GPA was a 3.56 (this is before the LSAC calculates my GPA). Also, I went to a competitive university in California--do law schools take this into account?

Any advice is very appreciated.

Thank you.

Comments

• LAWYEREDLAWYERED Alum Member
    335 karma

help...

• JustDoItJustDoIt Alum Member
    3112 karma