Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Any older non-traditional students?

gaflparalegalgaflparalegal Alum Member
in General 133 karma

I’m 38, a single mom of 2. Been out of school since 2000, finishing up my BA now I’m hopes to apply to law school in the next 2 years.

Anyone else in a similar position? How do you stay motivated? Any worries about juggling law school and a family? Do you think being older hurts our chances? I’ve been a paralegal for 9 years so I’m hoping that experience will help instead of hinder.

Comments

• ebalde1234ebalde1234 Member
    905 karma
    905 karma

I think being older can give you some advantages. More experienced/ more acquired life skills /time management (generally speaking ) . Hats off to you for embarking on this journey.

• LCMama2017LCMama2017 Alum Member
    2134 karma

lol @ebalde1234 didn't think anyone notice me!

Hey @gaflparalegal I'm a mom of two also but been out of school way longer! Motivation is so tough. I've learned that for me, taking breaks helps me to renew my motivation. I've also started changing up my study environment - if I study at home too long I start doing laundry, figuring out dinner, cleaning up toys, so I've been going to different libraries to get that motivation going and get out of "mom" zone.

I def worry about juggling law and family. When I first started this journey I didn't think it would be possible to do both. I have plans for when I finally go to law school. The first year is going to undoubtedly going to be the toughest so I am thinking of dorming at school m-f and coming home on the weekends. I'm not sure how that's going to work out but that is my idea so far. I think there will be sacrifices to be made with the kids and their activities but I keep telling myself that it will only be for a year and hopefully it will all somehow work out.