Reading Comp suggestions for art/law/humanities

saraheq1saraheq1 Alum Member

Hi friends! I'm looking for advice/suggestions from those of you with backgrounds in liberal arts, law, humanities, art, and social sciences.
My background is in science/tech, which makes the science passages in RC a relief, but has left me struggling with the passages focused on specific artists, art history, social science etc.

I see people posting about reading The Economist and other tech/science journals to increase their understanding and stamina with those subjects, but haven't seen a consensus on reading material for the humanities. I've been reading the New Yorker and more prose-heavy books, but am lost otherwise. What are your suggestions? Thanks!

Comments

• Sarri BallSarri Ball Alum Member
    74 karma

hi, english major here.

I'd try reading the works of cultural theorists as opposed to novels/other works of fiction. While dense prose could certainly help in your ability to pick through similarly stuffy RC passages, I think that getting a loose handle on the writing style of prominent theorists could aid you in dealing with the passages you are concerned about.

I compiled a brief list of critics I encountered in my undergrad that would help you acclimatize to the jargon used in the humanities/art history. Some of their work is absolutely maddening to parse through (Bhabha particularly), while others (Said's Orientalism) are enlightening.

Theodor Adorno
    Sara Ahmed
    Arjun Appaduari
    Roland Barthes
    Homi Bhabha
    Judith Butler
    Noam Chomsky
    Jacques Derrida
    Frantz Fanon
    Michel Foucault
    Antonio Gramsci
    Donna Haraway
    bell hooks
    Edward Said
    Eve Sedgwick
    Gayatri Spivak
    Slavoj Zizek