Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Letting go of what does not serve me on this LSAT journey

GreatDay8GreatDay8 Alum Member
edited August 2018 in General 130 karma

I started studying for the LSAT in October 2017. It is currently August 2018. With the passing of ten months, I have realized that my goal of reaching law school is a marathon and not a sprint. Taking 3 weeks or 3 months to study may suit other learners but not me. And that is okay.

Sometimes I wonder if the support that my friends and family initially showed me in October has waned in strength; if the passing of time has caused them to question my abilities. This train of thought, however, does nothing to serve me. I recall that this journey belongs to me. I remind myself that this test requires the steadfast self-belief, patience, and effort that only I can draw from within myself.

Sometimes I get stressed at the thought of "sinking all of my eggs into one basket". That with each passing day, all of my efforts are geared towards something that is perhaps not guaranteed. I suddenly begin to visualize the bitter disappointment of not getting in and feel the ensuing burn of self-doubt. This train of thought, however, does nothing to serve me. I recall that the world owes me nothing. Acceptance into law school will not be served to me on a silver platter. I must be resilient and continue to work hard. There is no other option.

The November 2018 LSAT is 91 days away. I signed up for 7sage in March and have completed 65% of this course. Way back when, I scored a 147 on my first prep test. My current personal best is a159. I have learned an awful lot from 7sage yet there is still much room for growth.

To anyone who has doubts - keep learning and keep looking forward!

Comments

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    edited August 2018 2531 karma