Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Anxiety medication and sleep

MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
in General 3256 karma

So I have a little bit of a dilemma. I am currently taking a prescribed anxiety medication, which does a really great job of keeping away panic attacks, but makes me not sleep very well and I often feel drowsy and my brain is foggy. I know that ultimately I am the only one who can answer this for myself, but does anyone have any thoughts about taking a break on the medicine until the September LSAT is over so that I can get better sleep?

Comments

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

I have no experience with anxiety meds specifically, so just spit balling here. Do you know if the brain fog and drowsiness is a product of the lack of sleep or is it from the medication directly? Like, if you try a bunch of things to help you get more sleep, could you stay on the med and not be foggy? Or is that a separate side effect?

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

I think it's both, but mostly from not getting enough sleep. I might try your suggestion to do a bunch of stuff to get more sleep for the next week or so and see how it goes. Thanks for the response!

• MarClaAveMarClaAve Member
    123 karma

Melatonin is a natural vitamin you can buy at the drug store that might help you fall asleep. Not something you nevessarily want to take forever (the more you take it the less your body feels the need to produce it making it difficult in the long run to utilize your body’s natural sleep methods) but it might be a good temporary fix.

8392 karma