LSAC-calculated GPA vs. College GPA, etc. - What matters???

LAWYEREDLAWYERED Alum Member
edited August 2018 in Law School Admissions 335 karma

Hi everyone,

I just checked my LSAC Academic Summary Report and I am very confused.
The LSAC calculated my Degree Summary GPA as a 3.36 and my Cumulative GPA as a 3.41.
In contrast, my university says my Cumulative GPA is a 3.36 and my Cumulative GPA for my major is a 3.56.

Also: I received an F in a P/F GE course I took and it is not being reflected on my LSAC Academic Summary Report (which I REALLY don't mind because it would definitely pull down my LSAC GPA) but I'm just so confused--was it an error?

I guess my question is: which GPA is the one that law schools use to decide whether to admit me or not?
Furthermore, if a law school's average GPA is a 3.57/3.59 (i.e. UCI or UC Davis) and I have a 3.41 GPA, am I still considered a splitter? Will I still need to kill it/ overcompensate on my LSAT? (I'm an URM)
@"David.Busis" I would really love to hear your insight.

Thanks everyone.

Comments

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    9372 karma

Hi @LAWYERED,

What matters is your cumulative undergraduate GPA according to the LSAC. Your LSAC GPA is what schools see.

If your GPA is below the median, your LSAT score probably needs to be at or above their median. But the URM admissions can be different: https://7sage.com/admissions/lesson/affects-chances-getting-law-school/

• Tom_TangoTom_Tango Alum Member
    902 karma

LSAC gpa

• samantha.ashley92samantha.ashley92 Alum Member
    1777 karma

Have you transferred schools? I think that's what adjusted mine a little (3.79 to 3.80). Since GPAs are often rounded up, combining the grade points' unrounded numbers from multiple transcripts could change it. Anyway, your LSAC GPA is what matters.

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma