Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is being LGBT+ a disadvantage?

Q_ESQUIREQ_ESQUIRE Alum Member
in General 71 karma

Hi Guys, so I'm very curious about this factor since I'm not from the States
and really don't know how the LGBT+ members are doing out there.
I've read a dreadful article about a gay law student attempting suicide and am very shocked, worried and so on.

I have little knowledge of how the situation and the societal circumstances are for the LGBT+ students
and their future careers in law.
Is it a disadvantage for applying to law schools and getting a job after graduation?
Does discrimination againts it exist among the classmates and co-workers?
and is it more harsh in certain states or schools?(e.g. religious schools..)

Please give me some light! help me!

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

Hi!

I'm not in law school yet, but I am bisexual/engaged to a same-sex partner, so I might be able to help. I think that at most law schools, it doesn't hurt and if anything it helps because of diversity. Higher education in the United States is usually pretty liberal and accepting of the LGBT community, so I wouldn't be particularly worried about it. Lots of law schools have specific LGBT clubs and clinics too.

Some states are definitely more liberal than others. If you go to California vs somewhere in the deep south, you may feel a little less accepted (but honestly I still don't think it will be a huge issue at the schools themselves). A lot of schools have religious "affiliations" but that doesn't mean they aren't accepting. Only the SUPER religious schools (like say Brigham Young) would present an issues. You're going to run into the occasional jerk anywhere you go, but the overall vibe seems to be really good.