Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Are Law School Ranking The Most Important Variable?

PandaRamenPandaRamen Alum Member
edited October 2018 in Law School Admissions 162 karma

I am at a crossroad in which schools I should apply to. I have an LSAT score of 158 and a GPA of 3.7. My softs qualification would be that I am an engineering graduate with honors. For me, Intellectual Property Law, mainly patent prosecution, is something that really interests me.

I have read this blog post: https://medium.com/@andybrink/10-variables-more-important-than-prestige-real-factors-to-help-you-pick-a-law-school-bd8e38b023c8

It's worth reading since it includes variables other than law school rankings to consider. BUT I feel like ranking still matters with job prospects. I am planning on applying to UCI (#21) or Loyola (#65). Both are reachable schools with my numbers. I will apply to other schools, like USC etc. but that seems like a practice in futility.

To make matters simple let's just assume $0 for scholarships. I plan to be based and practice in LA. Loyola has a good program. I am considering doing a double concentration in IP and Cybersecurity and Data Privacy Law. Loyola both offer these programs. I also read that their Data Privacy Law have well known faculties. I think Cyber-anything law would become a big field in the future due to where out society is heading. I dont mind doing the extra-leg work that lower ranked schools entails. I have talked to lawyers who went from unknown-unranked law schools and are doing VERY well. They all sing the same hymn, "it's not where you get your degree, but what you do with it."