Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should i retake the LSAT-171 score on September 2018 test first attempt

edited November 2018 in General 148 karma

I am currently a junior and took the LSAT for the first time in September 2018 beginning of my Junior year of college. I got a 171 on the test.(-1 LG, -5 LR and -4 RC) I am shooting for a top 20 Law school and know a top 6 is probably not realistic. A scholarship would be great but is not a deal breaker. I am not a URM , have a good GPA(not great 3.5 ) from a top LAC with a difficult major economics and math minor and great leadership in college (on board of my college Mock trial and worked for residence life). also have 2 good summer internships mostly economics focused and hoping to have a great legal internship as a rising senior this summer.
I studied for about 7 wks last summer following my internship in DC last summer and before I went back to start my junior year of college. I had a concentrated 7 wks (not working, was finished my internship) so although only 7 wks of studying , It was FT studying without working or school stressors. I purchased the Starter course in addition to purchasing from Amazon PT 72-84. I got a 162 on my diagnostic in June prior to studying and focused MY timed practice test (72-84, 36, 44 )on the more recent exams instead of the older exams included in the starter course. My 15 timed PT were between166-174 so I guess I was pleased with the 171 I got on test day although I believe I could have gotten a little higher.
I know law schools only use the highest score, but my fear is if i shoot for a second time not only could i be wasting a whole lot of time , I could score lower and it might look better to have one attempt at 171 with no repeats or cancellations rather than take it a second time and posssibly score below 170.

Comments

• BamboosproutBamboosprout Alum Member
    1694 karma