Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Would being shot by a client make my application stronger?

Objecto1Objecto1 Alum Member

Hey everyone. I work as a paralegal at a family law firm.Yesterday a client left threatening to come back with a gun. I called the police, and they said to call if he actually came back. He did. He rolled by our office slowly and then parked down the street. I saw him get out and then stand on the corner, facing our office, dressed in a black hoody with the hood up and black pants, talking on his phone....emphatically, let’s say. I called the police and they met him on the corner, frisked him and he didn’t have a gun. He’ll be trespassing if he comes back. I guess he was just waiting for us to leave for the day so he could talk.

Question though: if I get shot, hopefully in the arm or leg, and in a non-fatal fashion, you think mentioning that in my personal statement will give me any boost? I’m set to take the November test and with a good score I’ll be a splitter.

Comments

• tekken1225tekken1225 Alum Member
    770 karma

@Objecto1 said:

Question though: if I get shot, hopefully in the arm or leg, and in a non-fatal fashion, you think mentioning that in my personal statement will give me any boost? I’m set to take the November test and with a good score I’ll be a splitter.

Being shot, even if it's just an arm or leg and non-fatal, is no joke. Trust me, you don't want this to happen to you. Stay safe.

• FixedDiceFixedDice Member
    1804 karma

That would certainly give some shock value. But as all other anecdotes and examples go, whether getting shot would "boost" your PS would really depend on how you approach and spin the story. If getting shot doesn't fit your PS's overaching narrative, you may want to leave it out.

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

I can't tell if this is serious or not...