Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Diversity statement topic help

Hi guys!

I'm getting ready to apply to a few schools before December 25, and am considering writing diversity statement. I am the daughter of immigrants and know that is a decent topic for a diversity statement, but I think I want to focus on my undergraduate studies for a potential topic instead. I majored in Human Biology and Spanish in undergrad, and I know probably the majority of people applying to law school will not have science majors in their background. As odd as it may be that I am applying to law school with Bachelor degrees in both these two areas (maybe less so with Spanish), I really do think that my studies have contributed to my continued desire to study the law, and have prepared me in different ways for doing so. I declared a major in human biology for the opportunity to master something much greater than just the natural sciences, but to apply the sciences to the bigger picture by incorporating information learned from the social sciences and the humanities.I have learned the importance of collaborative problem solving, ethical reasoning, the application of scientific reasoning in a non-scientific setting, etc.

Because of the material taught at all three levels in this department, I have the skills to see health with a more holistic approach as it relates to environmental issues on the global scale, and how the branches of natural and social sciences and the humanities all overlap, allowing for identifying and addressing issues we face today. This has motivated me more to study environmental and health related law, while I am still interested in exploring other areas of law as well.