Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What does it mean when your LSAC GPA is listed as a range?

SupernoviceSupernovice Alum Member
edited September 2021 in Law School Admissions 323 karma

I've searched all over the forum and couldn't find anything on this topic. I'm prior military and I went to several institutions before and during my service to complete my undergrad degree. The LSAC has my GPA listed as "3.0 - 3.49". Why is that? What does that mean (other than I was a very mediocre student 😁)? It never really stood out to me because I thought perhaps everyone's was listed in a similar way, but having searched the forum, I can't find another example of anyone with an LSAC GPA listed as a range... I'm a bit confused because my actual degree GPA is within that range, so why not just use that GPA?

Can someone explain this sorcery?

Comments

• SupernoviceSupernovice Alum Member
    edited December 2018 323 karma

Well, @Supernovice, since you've asked and, apparently, no one else has this problem, I called LSAC for you this morning and they have informed me: 'It is because you went to multiple schools and some of the credits you received before going to your degree granting institution were not converted at your degree granting institution. Your cumulative GPA from that institution is 3.36, but we here at LSAC would've given you a 3.49 based on your 3.7 GPA from the last school you attended--the ones which were not converted by your degree granting institution. To be on the safe side, we threw in that "3.0" because that was your lowest grade, figured we'd point that out for everyone up front, for no particular reason whatsoever, but definitely not to your advantage. So basically, it's up to the law school to which you apply to decide what your GPA is within that range. Also known as: "it's complicated."