Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How much can stellar LSAT score make up for not so so undergrad GPA?

mattjm1121mattjm1121 Member
edited March 2015 in General 29 karma
Hey all,

LSAT prep noob here and I was just wondering how much of a better candidate I can make myself with, say a 170+ LSAT. I posted a 157 diagnostic, so from the feedback I've received, 170+ is at least within the realm of possibility. I graduated May '13 with about a 3.4 GPA (<<much regretted laziness) as a philosophy major (econ/psych minors if that matters at all). I've been working since graduation. Any insight would be appreciated! I'm shooting for a top 20-25 school.

Comments

• ddakjikingddakjiking Inactive ⭐
    2116 karma
    If you can achieve that 170, you can find yourself at a T14.

http://mylsn.info/05fuor/

Used 169-171 LSAT and 3.3-3.5 GPA as your data range.

If you achieve a 172, T14 opens up even more.

http://mylsn.info/8nu11r/
  • jdawg113jdawg113 Alum Inactive ⭐
    2654 karma
    What he said ^ :P lol GPA matters and it can block you from certain gpa heavy schools but with the right LSAT you can deff get up into those top schools, and diagnostic isn't everything, 170+ is possible for people with all sorts of diagnostics, just gotta work for it
  • Nilesh SNilesh S Alum Inactive ⭐
    edited March 2015 3438 karma
    Yeah a 170 almost* guarantees a spot at a T14 unless you have a sub 3.0 GPA... and even then it does give you a fair shot at some of the lower ones if you ED.
  • brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
    1489 karma
    I can't speak much to your chances at admission (although the comments offered also seem to fall in line with what I've read in other places) but I did want to add that our diagnostic scores are exactly the same. I scored a 157 on my diagnostic, on December 12th, 2014, and my last 3 PTs have all been in the low 170's. It can definitely be done and I wish you luck!