Motivation/Advice/Study Tips

JRose1210JRose1210 Alum Member
in General 86 karma

Greetings everyone,

I am reaching out to see if anyone can offer some advice/motivation. I have been studying for the LSAT for a little over a year. I’ve taken the exam twice, both times scoring less than my potential. I am a paralegal and my boss accomodated me last year and allowed time off to study. It looks like I will need to continue to prep for another try at the exam. I am feeling totally unmotivated and tired. However, I do not want to give up. I am not going to ask for more accomodations at work since I feel they’ve done enough. I also would like to look for a new job but haven’t done so because of the law school process. I’m feeling quite stressed and unsure of how to tackle test prep moving forward. Can anyone offer some tips? :(

Comments

• lsatgodjklsatgodjk Alum Member
    938 karma

Hi there -

Working and studying the LSAT can be really tough, so I really admire the fact that you're juggling both of those responsibilities. You wake up, decide to go to work, and have every intention to study until you get home after your 8-10 hour day and it is just too tough. I get it; I've been there.

My advice is this:

if you can, then I highly suggest you taking time off work and focusing on the LSAT. Some people do not have this luxury, I understand - but if you do, I think you should. If you want to ultimately become an attorney, this LSAT is the MOST important test you will ever take.

If you cannot, which is understandable, then I think it is very important that you take it slow and study 1 to 2 hours after work. Although it is important that you up those hours on the weekend. It sounds dreadful, but considering you have to work and you want to go to law school, you're going to have to make these sacrifices.