All the tips that worked for me (+ my spreadsheet)

hawaiihihawaiihi Free Trial Member
edited February 2019 in General 973 karma

Hi all, just want to thank this community for all the tips and tricks and the positive environment you all provided. I started studying in January 2019, took the Feb 2019 LSAT, began studying again in May 2019, and then took the July LSAT and sent in applications in October. For study materials, I only used the free 7Sage offerings, which made a HUGE difference, and got hold of the PTs. Now my cycle is (almost) over--- I scored a 172 and got into my top school. I spent SO much time trawling this site for tips and advice, and I'm hoping to give back by sharing everything that worked for me in one post. (Also, I got the idea from @terrynicholasj and his great post!)

1. My master spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yK-ux9iLzRF8c4zfJieZC7cXNuzPaAWEJtwT6BWVzxA/edit#gid=0 was based off of @Pacifico Foolproof LG attack strategy. I would highlight games to remind me to return to them on set dates and used the far right tracker to black out games I'd worked on. Also, I foolproofed every game I encountered that I could not get -0 or within time on, including those during PTs. I'd squeeze in a game or two whenever I had the time, and they eventually added up to serious improvement.
  2. Writing out RC & LR explanations: There's sheets in my tracker for this. I would write out detailed explanations for every single RC and LR question I got wrong, both explaining why the correct answer was correct but also ruling out all the wrong answers. Happy to give sample explanations if needed. This helped me to clarify the logic/thought process and provided excellent reading the night before the exam.