Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Returning Student w/Low GPA. Do I have a chance?

olderstudent19olderstudent19 Free Trial Member

I am an older student (almost 40). I dropped out of college in 2001 with a sub-2.0 GPA due to domestic violence/abuse issues. I worked full-time throughout my first stint in college. After I dropped out, I continued to work full-time, and decided to go back to school in 2016 to complete my degree. In my second stint at college, I needed 24 hours to graduate, and although I completed those 24 hours with a 3.5+ GPA, it only raised my cummulative GPA to 2.1. I completed my degree in May 2018. I have taken the January administration of the LSAT. I don't have my score back yet, but have also signed up for the March administration of the test. Assuming I score 165+ on the test, do I have any chance of getting into a decent school? I know my overal GPA is terrible and relatively recent, but the bulk of the damage was done 15+ years ago. Thank you for any feedback you can offer.

Comments

• LSATTrevLSATTrev Member
    68 karma

I'm in a similar boat. 28 y/o who graduated with a 2.7 at age 22. Recently returned to pick up some more credit hours, as well as a nice recommendation letter. Any chance of getting a letter of your own from one of your profs?

I assume you know that we aren't an anomaly, and the status we are hoping to achieve is what's known as a "splitter." Low GPA and high LSAT score or vice versa. Many schools seem to weigh the LSAT more heavily than the GPA. Check out the percentile ranges of LSAT scores for some of the schools you're interested in. Try to reach the score in the range of the top 25%.