Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I have done nothing but waste time since graduating college?

tayanthony31tayanthony31 Core Member
in General 81 karma

so I graduated in dec of 2017 and it has be tough for me because of the job market. I just feel as if i must be unhirable or something. My plan was to get a “real” job and then go to law school but that has not worked out. Ive been working at the same job involving children and a few volunteer opportunities but thats it. I really just want to create a strong application but i feel like i have nothing to offer what should i do? Ive applied to nearly 100 jobs im seriously dishearted there.

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

Friends of mine have had tremendous luck with headhunters. Hiring professional help for your résumé is another option. Others have had to move across the country or to major cities to find the jobs they wanted.

What types of job(s) are you interested in? More importantly, which ones do you think you’re most qualified for?

You can still create a strong application. You didn’t graduate that long ago and everyone understands how tough the job market is for recent grads.

• J.CHRIS.ALSTJ.CHRIS.ALST Alum Member
    399 karma

@Alex said:
    Friends of mine have had tremendous luck with headhunters.

^ This was my experience as well. Moved from small market general practice assistant job to biglaw paralegal in DC because I stumbled upon a very helpful, established DC area recruiter on LinkedIn. If you come across the right recruiter and have any marketable skills or a past that shows you're committed, the odds of you finding something, compared to continuously applying on job boards/sites, is better (based on my experience).