Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I retake?

MandarinOtterMandarinOtter Alum Member
edited March 2019 in General 39 karma

Hi 7sage,

I scored a 167 on the September LSAT and I have a 3.89 GPA from a top-3 US university. I'm currently an anthropology PhD student and am considering a joint JD-PhD with the goal of practicing law. I'd like to go into public interest law to fight evictions and rent increases - or something in that vein. The PhD would be less for career purposes and more to inform legal practice. My list of schools I'd like to apply to in the 2019-2020 cycle, based on the school's strengths, rankings, and my odds of getting in based on 7sage's calculator, are:

NYU - target

Berkeley - target

Georgetown - target

Michigan - target

UCLA - target

USC - target/"safety"

Chicago - reach

Yale - reach

Harvard - reach

UC Irvine - "safety"

Is this realistic? I'm currently signed up for the January 26 LSAT but am exhausted by grad school already and am unsure if it's worth starting studying to retake in a few weeks.

Thanks!

Comments

• Seeking PerfectionSeeking Perfection Alum Member
    4423 karma

It sounds realistic. However, it is certainly worth a retake.

I'm not sure what funding would be like for your joint degree, but scholarship chances go up with your LSAT score. The good news is you may be able to negotiate even if you retake the test later in the cycle. There is no reason it has to be in a few weeks.

Unless you trust the PSLF repayment system a lot more than me, then you probably are going to want to minimize debt as someone interested in doing public interest work.

Additionally, if you care about scholarships you should also apply to Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL) for a fair shot at a full tuition scholarship especially if you can squeeze out a couple more points on the LSAT.

• MandarinOtterMandarinOtter Alum Member
    39 karma