Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How much studying is too much studying?

Snoopy123Snoopy123 Alum Member
in General 105 karma

I study everyday for a couple of hours for the LSAT. My exam is in September. Is it bad that im studying everyday for hours? Tips to prevent burnout?

Comments

• simple_jacksimple_jack Alum Member
    284 karma

Personally I do the same and I'm also a double major and D1 athlete. LSAT and undergrad have basically become my life and I've just accepted it. I haven't really felt any burnout in three months and I'm not quite sure it exists (for me). For some people a break is necessary but it's very subjective. Just remember not to use it as an excuse to stop studying.

• edited April 2019 1025 karma

As long as you wake up the mindset of being hungry to get better, you're fine. As soon as the thought of studying feels less than that, then you need to take a break until you feel ready again.

Make sure you prevent yourself from overworking. Always take off time to not think of anything LSAT related, regardless of how motivated you may feel. This could mean anything along the lines of when you're done studying, you stop all LSAT thinking, all the way to the other end of the spectrum of taking a few days off. Preventing burnout really is something that's idiosyncratic and so will vary depending on the person.

What has helped me to prevent burnout is reminding myself of a time I was at my peek of feeling driven. For example, for me it's the day I got the emailed score from LSAC that I did not like and how much in that moment I wanted to work harder to get my goal score.

That's just my two cents. Best of luck.

• jmarmaduke96jmarmaduke96 Member Sage
    2891 karma