Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

BR

Madssssss L.Madssssss L. Alum Member

Hi all! So I'm preparing for the July 15 test, average is 169, and BR is almost always above 170 (took a bit of a hit transitioning from PTs 36-44, and now in the 70s). Working me bum off to routinely score 170+.

I am planning on taking 3 PTs/week (being okay with only 2 if time gets away from me--- I'm a full time grad student). Spending 20 hrs/week studying.

Because I'm doing so much BRing, I started to think that skipping the BR on the first 7 (or 10) LR questions for one out of three PTs each week would save massive time where I don't feel like I am actually gaining that much. The reasoning always seems natural, and I almost always get all of these questions correct.

Help me check myself: am I being lazy, or it this a fine strategic use of time?

Comments

• drbrown2drbrown2 Alum Member
    edited May 2019 2227 karma

When you BR do you review every question? In LR you should only BR questions you circle (not 100% sure about correct answer, or not 100% sure about eliminating incorrect answer). That way if you miss one you didn't BR, you can take special note of that question and figure out where you misread/misunderstood.

As for the strategy, it seems like you want to spend less time reviewing so you have more time for an additional test? The PTs themselves are just a precursor to BR. What I mean by that is that taking a PT can help you practice timing strategies and gets you extra reps with RC passages and games and all that, but you have to review the tests to improve. If you have the time to take 3 tests and review them all, great!