Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I studied all summer and only improved by one point

DjmasterdougDjmasterdoug Alum Member
edited August 2019 in General 30 karma

Hey guys and gals, I studied all summer for the Sept LSAT and my first two PTs afterwards I've only improved by 1 point. I'm feeling really discouraged and would like some advice on how to proceed. Thinking about waiting out this year and seeing if I can do better with more studying time under my belt.

Edit: Thanks for the advice, friends. It's so easy to throw up your hands and give up, but the only thing to do is keep working at it and until I understand the material.

Comments

• drbrown2drbrown2 Alum Member
    2227 karma

2 PTs are not enough to gauge how much more you understand this test after studying (and presumably completing the CC)

The CC is phase 1. You learn about what the different question types are asking of you, and techniques for diagramming LG. When you start taking more PTs, you will be exposed to far more questions than you have seen in the CC. Taking the PT isn't going to help you get better at the test, but the review work you put in before checking the score will help you improve.

If I were you I would make sure to foolproof LG (there are several fantastic guides on these forums) and drill LR and RC sections. Don't score the games or sections before reviewing them thoroughly untimed.

Do that for a couple of weeks, then take a PT. Review the PT before scoring it, then take a day to reflect on your strengths and weaknesses. Return to the CC periodically to address those weaknesses.

As you get further along in your prep, you will begin to take up to 2 PTs per week with thorough review. At this stage, if you are Blind Reviewing at a much higher score range than your timed score range you just need to address those timing issues and then you're set!