Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I got a 163- cancel!?

strugglebus23strugglebus23 Free Trial Member
edited August 2019 in July 2019 LSAT 6 karma

Hey all,
I can’t make the big webinar on whether one should cancel July, but I am freaking out and am at a loss for what to do.
Stats things:
I have only taken the July LSAT and scored a 163
I graduated from an Ivy League school magna cum laude with a 3.87 GPA and won an award for my senior thesis.

I am 100% interested in schools with strong public interest programs, and am in love with NYU and Berkeley. I do not technically count as a URM but identify as a queer person of color; my background is middle eastern. I have slaved over this test for a year, neglecting my personal statement and going through a lot of emotional turmoil because me and tests don’t mesh so well. I was scoring 165/167 before the test, so I chalk up the drop in my score to test day nerves and starting 3 hours late. I think maybe I could do better, but really wanted to start my PS and get a move on the rest of my application. I have been working for over a year at a prestigious public interest org- with a rec from my employer, my thesis advisor, and a professor, I think in terms of recs I'm pretty set. I am a good writer and feel that the rest of my application is very strong, but I know my score is seriously lacking for the places I want to be. ‘Holistic’ application assessment seems like a myth, too.

So, with all that said, should I retake?

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma